The 5 Niyamas of Yoga ( Discover here )

Niyamas are a set of methods that helps us to act positively in the outer world, it is the second spiritual limb of yoga, mentioned in Patanjali’s sutras.

Niyamas consist of the following:-

  1. Saucha
  2. Santosha
  3. Tapas
  4. Svadhyaya
  5. Isvara Pranidhara



It means “cleanliness”. It refers to the cleanliness of not only your surrounding but also of your mind and body as if you are stressed from inside, then you will not feel the purity of the outside.

It can also be related to eating healthy food items and cleaning your life out of things that don’t serve you at all.

Related Posts:- 


It means “contentment”, be happy in what you have as happiness is enjoying the gifts you already possess, for example – You might be very lucky if you have your parents or kids, while others may not have these unique gifts of God.

Yes, keeping big goals and striving hard for them doesn’t violate Santosha, just remember to be happy in what you have while striving hard for your goals.


This Niyamas translates as “Discipline” and “Austerity”. The term “Tapas” is derived from Sanskrit verb, “Tap” which means “to burn”, or to ignite a feeling of “passion” towards something.

It teaches us to establish a desire for passion, courage, or self-discipline to get rid of all the negativity, emotionally, mentally, and physically.

Thus, Tapas will help you to increase will power towards achieving complex yoga asanas.

Related Posts



It means self-study, the knowledge you will gain through self-study remains long-lasting in your brain because in self-study you put your efforts in achieving something, you felt the pain and hard work to accomplish it.

Your self-study will help you learn which poses are good for you and which one you should avoid if you have some injury or pain, thus, it makes you your monitor to decide what is good or bad for yourself!

Isvara Pranidhana


Isvara Pranidhana means “commitment to the Isvara (the almighty)”. It teaches us “The Power of Surrender”, to give ourselves to the almighty to the creator of the universe.

It acknowledges that there is something bigger than the whole of humanity and that we don’t have any real influence or control of anything in this world.


Just like Yamas, Niyamas also play an important role in our daily lifestyle, these basic values can bring a positive change in the way people interact with you, they will start loving your attitude.

I hope this post is helpful in understanding the 5 Niyamas of Yoga.

If you like it, then always remember to share because ” Sharing is Caring “!